And I Curse Sir Walter Raleigh

by Carson Reynolds

Since coming back into town from LA, the last few months have been grueling and productive. I finished up Introducing Ethics, Me Talk Pretty One Day, I, Robot, a whole mess of articles on ethics. Dostoevsky’s The Idiot and Foucault’s Discipline and Punish were a bit slower going. I’ll continue to work through them along with some other straglers: Orwell’s 1984 and Murakami’s Underground.

I put up the first climbing route I can remember since leaving Seattle. It’s this little indoor bouldering problem at the MIT Climbing Gym. Blue Arrows on White starting under the roof with about six hand holds. You pay for each one (grin). I’d call it V3-.

The big news is that there is a chance I will be moving to Tokyo next year. I don’t want to give away all the details but suffice it to say I’m listening to language tapes and trying to learn the Hiragana, Katakana, and some basic Kanji in what could laughably be called “free time.” I’ve mastered one phrase so far: 私日本語分かりません

